It Should Be Me!!

I’ve been sitting here for the past few minutes thinking back on priorities. I don’t know if it’s an escape mechanism because I’m neck-deep in editing right now and I really DO NOT like it, or if it’s that female nostalgia that hits me each month. 😉 But, I just feel a need to share.

Several years ago I found myself in a need for change. I was so busy with outside things, that my children’s basic needs had become an interruption and a bother. It broke my heart when I realized how upside-down this was.

A confirmation of the mess I had created came at a church picnic. My then-two-year-old daughter had fallen down and hurt herself. She picked herself up and ran right past me to her BABYSITTER for hugs and comfort. Ouch.

That very day I began a year-long quest to find out just what God had created me for so that I could be INTENTIONAL with my service and not waste time just filling in where a body was needed.

Once I began to form an idea through prayer, reading, and observation I began to filter all my choices through my new found purpose. Of course my first purpose was “mother”. Somehow I had bought into the idea that THAT was a secondary thing and not the noble calling that it is.

We ended up moving during this process and I took advantage of the changes to firmly set my new priorities. For a full year I did absolutely NO MINISTRY outside of my home. I gave everything I had to my husband, children, and home. I had so much repair work to do with my first relationships! (My relationship with my children transformed radically – and wonderfully – in that year! My marriage was another story that will have to be the subject of a later post. I’m just happy to say, I figured that one out, too … eventually.)

My children are growing older (shhhh, don’t encourage them to pick up the pace!) and my priorities are shifting slightly. I have added ministry outside the home, but I only choose what fits my purpose – which still is primarily “mother”. In fact, I’m going to be letting go of another ministry next year because the needs of my daughter are increasing in the emotional department as she hits those lovely years of puberty. It’s been a bumpy year and the ride has only just barely begun! I’m fastening more than one seat belt, I can assure you!

Anyway, my editing isn’t getting done. I have a contest to enter by the middle of next week and I don’t want to be the WORST entry ever. Just keep this post in mind.

What season of life are you in? What is God’s purpose for you at this time? Make a list of things that boil your blood, make you passionate, that you care about, that you do well, that come easy to you – and find ways to serve that allows you to use all those!

~ by trubyjohnsonwrites on 03/25/2010.

One Response to “It Should Be Me!!”

  1. Your words are very timely for me. I have been examining this very thing, and tomorrow I have to tell a very dear friend that I can no longer help out in the ministry that she is in charge of. I have enjoyed helping out, but even the small amount of prep that is involved is taking away from what I know God has called me to do. I am concerned that she may not take it well, but I cannot be true to God’s calling and continue that ministry just to please her. I hate disappointing people, but in the long run, I know that God has a different set of people for me to minister to, and to do so will bring Him pleasure and satisfy the desire He has placed in my heart. Thank you for sharing your story, it helps to confirm that it is time for me to fully move into my next “season” as well.

Leave a Reply

 
